May Reading Wrap-Up

Amie Burnell
4 min readJun 1, 2021

Here are the books I read in May

During May, I only read three books. However, I enjoyed all three, and that is a win for me. I tend to DNF books if I’m not enjoying them, and I did start a few books that will not be mentioned since I don’t really have anything to say about them.

I’m going to be honest: I don’t read as many books as I should. When I do read, I get a lot of pages in, but I have many hobbies. So I don’t always have humongous wrap-ups at the end of the month. Regardless, I’m still excited to share what I did end up reading.

I will be wrapping these books up in chronological order from when I read them. Here they are:

1. Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

Image from Goodreads

Ever since reading Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson, I’ve been meaning to check out her backlist titles. This book, in particular, interested me because it discusses the parts of Brooklyn, and growing up in it, that no one wants to talk about. It is about August, who gets triggered into thinking back to her childhood after running into an old friend on public transport.

I enjoyed this book, it is short, and I read it all in one sitting. It is a coming-of-age story that shows the importance of friendship in adolescence. Although I really liked the book when I read it at the beginning…

--

--

Amie Burnell

An analytical chemist in upstate NY who loves books, science, running, baking, brewing (coffee, cider, etc.), and writing about it all!